PDA

View Full Version : Can you...


Fryza
12-22-2003, 01:00 AM
I was playing a few of my old PS1 games on my PS2 (Monster Rancher 2, SmackDown! 2, etc), and a question I thought came up, that I was a little scared to test.

Do the PS1 GameSharks work in the PS2 on PS1 games? I'm not sure if that is worded right, but let's say I'm playing Driver on the PS2, can I use the PS1 GameShark for it then?

Boomer
12-22-2003, 08:58 AM
Unless its a 3rd party gameshark that says it supports both I wouldn't bet on it. It is possible, for PS1 Dual Shocks work on a PS2. But my guess would be no.

thebitch
12-22-2003, 11:19 AM
It should. I mean, PS1 controllers, memory cards, and games all work with the PS2. I wouldn't think there would be a huge issue with using it.

DS
12-22-2003, 01:02 PM
I doubt it. PS2 only backward compatibility for Sony's hardware.

G
12-22-2003, 01:33 PM
I don't know if the gameshark that was made for ps1 back then is the same one i have, but the one i use came with the ps2 gameshark. It was a seperate disk that uses the same memory card as the ps2 one. I don't know if that helps, but :meh:

Fryza
12-22-2003, 01:36 PM
I don't know if the gameshark that was made for ps1 back then is the same one i have, but the one i use came with the ps2 gameshark. It was a seperate disk that uses the same memory card as the ps2 one. I don't know if that helps, but :meh:

Oh! Okay, I know of that. That helps. I'll look into that then. Thanks G :y:

G
12-22-2003, 01:38 PM
Oh! Okay, I know of that. That helps. I'll look into that then. Thanks G :y:

Glad that helped :y:

G
12-22-2003, 01:40 PM
Oh yeah, forgot to mention that you can't add codes to the ps1 one. Sucks, but it has a whole mess of games and codes already on there.

Fryza
12-22-2003, 01:44 PM
Hmm, it probably has the ones needed the most anyway, so I doubt it would be too much of a problem.

Volchok
12-22-2003, 09:03 PM
the gameshark i have works on my ps2.... but i dont know about the other versions....