PDA

View Full Version : Title Discussion Thread

Mr. Nerfect
10-29-2004, 11:08 PM
I remember reading a thread about this a while back, and I really enjoyed the discussion. Anyway, I just thought I'd start a topic to discuss the current title scene, depiction of the current and non-current championships (WWE and non-WWE), of the wrestling world.

I'm not an expert on championships and their histories, but I have a lot of opinions on them. I feel the WWE should bring back a title history web site, to discuss the championships, and the history behind them. Maybe a collection of DVDs could be released. One dealing with heavyweight titles, another with the IC Title, another with the US Title, another with the cruiserweight title, another with the women's championship and another with various defunct titles.

Anyway, as I said I'm not an expert, but here is my general view of the championships in the WWE:

WWE Championship
The combined product of the WWF and WCW Championships. Not a unifyed title, but defended as one. I say this, because the champion walked around with both belts for a while, until the WWE decided one to represent both would be ideal. This would mean that JBL isn't only the current WWE Champion, but he's also the current World Champion (WCW Champion). This would mean that both Bradshaw & Faarooq are both listed in the WCW's title history.

World Heavyweight Championship
I consider this a new championship, but a lot of people consider it a parrallel title to the original WWE Championship, or the continuation of the World Championship. Does anyone have the power to clear this up for us? I just consider it that the Eric Bischoff took the World Championship belt, and used it as a base model for a new RAW Heavyweight Championship.

WWE Intercontinental Championship