PDA

View Full Version : Clox's Counsel #3: Pro Wrestling as Art

Indifferent Clox
02-19-2007, 05:54 PM
First thing I'd like to adress this week is the tragic deaths of both Bam Bam Bigelow and Mike Awesome. Great wrestlers. It seems like great big man are hard to find and even harder to keep in pro wrestling.

In Today's Counsel I'd like to adress the seeming stereotype of Pro Wrestling and how far the image has come, and ironically how bad the product has become.

In the begging Pro Wrestling was the stuff of carnivals. Interesting and painful.
40 years ago it was a sport. 20 years ago it was widely considered entertainment of rednecks. And now, as it garners more mainstream attention, it doesn't really deserve that attention it should have had 10 years ago.

I'm a firm believer that Pro Wrestling is a mix of Theater and Sports, ala Sports entertainment. However, I find that not even the purest wrestling or the greatest storylines have reached their potential.

Imagine if Pro Wrestling Addressed topics that actually mattered in America. Social Issues and matters of much controversy. It could provide clever, intelligent satire on the human dilema. The Charecter's could be used to adress specific issues, or to simply make interesting commentaries on life.
Pro Wrestling could be art.

A mixture of Sacrifice and drama different than anything else. If it had the proper writer's and wrestler's it could become not only the highest rated show, but the show for intellects and marks. The Ultimate Show.

If we could get thought provoking stories and charecters, Incredibly interesting, controversial matches, and wrestlers who actually speak to us we could have a new revolution in Pro Wrestling and in art.

It seems however that when pro wrestling is finally at it's new peak socially (with shows on TV almost every night. And several new promotions doing incredible things and garnering more news media attention than ever before) it's at it's worst quality.