PDA

View Full Version : Wrestlers turned announcers

glanville6
11-09-2010, 01:54 PM
There are obviously a ton of guys who made the transition. Foley, Tazz, JBL, Jerry Lawler... but the two guys I am thinking about right now are...

Matt Striker and Josh Matthews. I'm a big fan of Matthews announcing, and I like Striker as well. These two stick out to me because they didn't have successful wrestling careers. Striker really never did get to midcard status, and was lucky enough to wrestle at Wrestlemania, and Josh had one or two matches in WWE.

Do you think they should or could still be wrestling? And what do you think of their work behind the mic?

Xero
11-09-2010, 01:58 PM
Striker and Matthews I think both suffered from size issues. Neither would have made it very far in WWE as wrestlers. Striker could have made it as a manager I think, but since WWE doesn't like managers that's moot.

They both are A LOT more successful than they would have been in the ring.

As for what I think of them, I think Striker is awesome but needs to learn to tone down some things. Some of his references are really out there, and I do like that. But he needs to ease more into announcing and not be so over the top. He has time to improve and, honestly, I could see him having a long career in the booth.

Can't say much about Matthews. I don't hate him but he just feels like he's "just there". He's pretty generic and doesn't stand out too much. That isn't a bad thing really, but I think he'll be replaced long before Striker will be.

glanville6
11-09-2010, 02:08 PM
Striker and Matthews I think both suffered from size issues. Neither would have made it very far in WWE as wrestlers. Striker could have made it as a manager I think, but since WWE doesn't like managers that's moot.

They both are A LOT more successful than they would have been in the ring.