PDA

View Full Version : WCW Bad, WWE Good

The Show Off
04-13-2007, 04:40 PM
I've been a wrestling fan for a long long time now. This is made quite obvious by the fact that I've been writing on these message boards for nearly seven years now. I've been a fan for much longer then that. When I grew up watching wrestling, I never considered myself a Hulkamaniac nor did I consider myslef a Little Warrior, nor did I get caught up in Macho Madness. Back when I became a wrestling fan I used flash the four fingers of the Horsemen, I was a Little Stinger, a fan of the Steiners and of "Flyin'" Brian Pillman. Back in those days I would rather watch WCW Saturday night then I WWF Superstars. I was a WCW/NWA fan first and a WWF fan second.

Why do I bring this all up? I bring it up because I'm sick and tired of the way the WWE treats the legacy of the NWA and WCW. In an age when the WWE is trying to market, poorly, the past of ECW as a way to make tons of money, the almost entirly omit the great contribution of the WCW. I recently bought the Four Horsemen DVD, and though a very good documentary and good matches there is something in that DVD that seems to happen with ever WWE DVD or program that they bring to the table, and it is this very simplistic notion that WCW was bad, and WWE was good.

If you haven't seen the Four Horsemen DVD the whole second half of the documentary is about how the WCW dropped the ball for almost a decade and how whenever a horseman jumped "up north" it was like the land of milk and honey. I cry complete and utter bullshit on this meger concept. If you really look at it all those guys that worked with Vince always crawled back to the WCW, why? Because it was the better wrestling show. Up until late 1997 WCW was always the far superior show, and after 1997 is it was still and incredibly close choice between the two.