PDA

View Full Version : Why Does Hogan Get Credit for Anything?

Swiss Ultimate
03-13-2011, 12:19 PM
Just read a thread where it was said that Hogan revolutionized the business.

Really? Pretty sure that Hogan's popularity was equal parts "charisma" and "Vince McMahon".

Feel like the guy was always just a lucky, albeit talented, jerk. What exactly did Hogan "revolutionize"? Cheesy promos? Formulaic matches? Baldness?

If anything guys who were a lot less popular and famous actually deserve the credit for major changes to pro wrestling. Brian Pillman, Ric Flair and Mick Foley's promos have been a major influence on the current generation of wrestlers. Flair's style of wrestling has sure as hell influenced the current generation of technical wrestlers.

So why give Hogan credit for anything aside from bringing in shitloads of fans with the help of McMahon and then Bischoff?

Londoner
03-13-2011, 12:31 PM
Have always questioned this to tbh, but i'm no expert on the matter. He was just in the right place, at the right time sort of thing.

Jeritron
03-13-2011, 12:38 PM
I think there are tons of fans who believe/recognize that Vince revolutionized wrestling, and that Hogan was just there.
But at the same time I think it just gets said because it was the "Hogan Era" that marked the change and what not.

Hogan deserves credit for his own abilities and that's about it. He certainly had the charisma, and "it" to make Vince's revolution work, but I don't think he's the only man who could have done it, and I don't think he himself is really an architect of anything.
Obviously, Hogan and some disciples believe otherwise.It doesn't really make a difference anymore.

Jeritron
03-13-2011, 12:45 PM
Hogan also probably "deserves credit" for managing to stay so relevant for so long. This was all piggybacked off the initial surge and iconic status granted by the original Hulkamania, but he stuck around.