Log in

View Full Version : NFL rules question...


Kris P Lettus
01-07-2007, 02:32 PM
How is the spike to stop the clock not an intentional grounding??

That is exactly what it is...

The QB is intetionally grounding the ball to stop the play and the clock.. He's still in the pocket, and there is no reciever there.. O-Line are ineligable..

How does this work??

RP
01-07-2007, 03:09 PM
TE's and RB's are considered recievers.

Kris P Lettus
01-07-2007, 03:14 PM
I know that..

The ball is thrown at the QB's feet.. A good 5 yards away from the RB, FB, or TE..

Kris P Lettus
01-07-2007, 03:15 PM
Also, the simple fact that the rule is for "intentional grounding" and that is exactly what that play is, is what bothers me..

Supreme Olajuwon
01-07-2007, 10:11 PM
The NFL rule book says intentional grounding is called if a player throws the ball away to avoid a loss of yards due to pressure from the defense.

So I guess the answer to your question is it depends on the motivation of the QB.

Kris P Lettus
01-07-2007, 10:23 PM
Pretty gay..

Jesus Shuttlesworth
01-08-2007, 11:46 PM
Yeah its about the intent. I dunno, I don't see the big deal. If they started calling it intentional grounding the QBs would just throwing it at the ground towards the TE

D Mac
01-09-2007, 03:13 AM
Yeah what Supreme said. If he is trying to avoid a sack and throws it away it's grounding if he is still in the pocket.

Kris P Lettus
01-09-2007, 06:23 PM
I understand the difference between the two rules..

It's just kinda silly to have a rule with a loophole that big..