![]() |
![]() |
#1 |
Listen to Killer Mike
Posts: 56,741
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]()
How is the spike to stop the clock not an intentional grounding??
That is exactly what it is... The QB is intetionally grounding the ball to stop the play and the clock.. He's still in the pocket, and there is no reciever there.. O-Line are ineligable.. How does this work?? |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
King of Love and Piss
Posts: 62,991
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
TE's and RB's are considered recievers.
|
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
Listen to Killer Mike
Posts: 56,741
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I know that..
The ball is thrown at the QB's feet.. A good 5 yards away from the RB, FB, or TE.. |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Listen to Killer Mike
Posts: 56,741
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Also, the simple fact that the rule is for "intentional grounding" and that is exactly what that play is, is what bothers me..
|
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
You know that’s right
Posts: 52,760
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The NFL rule book says intentional grounding is called if a player throws the ball away to avoid a loss of yards due to pressure from the defense.
So I guess the answer to your question is it depends on the motivation of the QB. |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
Listen to Killer Mike
Posts: 56,741
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Pretty gay..
|
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
Posts: 42,765
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yeah its about the intent. I dunno, I don't see the big deal. If they started calling it intentional grounding the QBs would just throwing it at the ground towards the TE
|
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Posts: 21,603
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yeah what Supreme said. If he is trying to avoid a sack and throws it away it's grounding if he is still in the pocket.
|
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
Listen to Killer Mike
Posts: 56,741
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I understand the difference between the two rules..
It's just kinda silly to have a rule with a loophole that big.. |
![]() |